TV Producers- Are you listening?

Reality TV – PLEASE get some new material!

I’m sure I’m not the only one who wishes there were more interesting television shows to choose from. Personally, I find myself drawn mostly to the ones about real people (Reality tv) doing extraordinary things. It makes me feel good inside to see someone deserving win big prizes, overcome unusual obstacles, achieve unrealistic dreams and well, just beat the odds stacked against them or win when they should have lost.  Shows like Survivor, American Idol, X-Factor, and Biggest Loser to name just a few. The bottom line for me is that I want to be entertained, inspired or educated. I want to laugh or cry or be moved enough to take action.

The last thing I want to watch on tv are people whose only goal in life to see how many children they can give birth to in their lifetime (YAWN). The only thing worse than watching boring people do boring things (how many years will it take us to watch each Duggar child grow up, get married and have a dozen or two kids of their own?),  is watching stupid people do stupid things.

I’m sorry, I know it doesn’t sound very nice to refer to people as ‘stupid’, because I don’t think stupid people can help it that they’re stupid. Irregardless, I don’t want to be amazed at some people’s stupidity. We can see that everyday in our everyday lives. Personally, I was thrilled that Honey Boo Boo was canceled.  There are quite a few more shows in my ‘humble’ opinion that need to be axed as well. Those that are counting kids and wives just to name a few more.

I don’t know about you, but I’m dying for some good old-fashioned wholesome family entertainment. Like many people, I tape my favorite shows so I can watch them when I have the time (and also so I can fast-forward through the commercials) but there just doesn’t seem to be much to chose from this season. So, who the heck is making the television producing decisions these days and why don’t they appear to even care about what WE think? I get all kinds of snail mail and online junk mail wanting my opinion on various things but I’ve never heard from a tv producer. Believe me, I would remember that because I would have plenty to say to them.

Here’s a few not-so-subtle hints to our modern day television show producers. Remember back when you read a book from cover to cover and just couldn’t put it down? Do you remember WHY you couldn’t put it down?

More than likely, you couldn’t put it down because it had a good plot, a cliff-hanger climax, a hero/heroine to root for, a villain to hate, someone funny to laugh at,  a sad story to cry over, or if you were really lucky, all of the above. These are what most of our modern day television shows are lacking in part, or well… ALTOGETHER.

As always, just my own two cents worth on the subject…

Hugs,

Becki

(Sorry its been so long since I posted.  As some of my friends and family know, I’ve sold my house and moved to a neighboring city.  Lots of projects going on as I get settled in. )

About Becki P

I think I've had the creativity bug all my life. Like my mother did, I love the challenge and satisfaction of making something out of nothing. I have a variety of interests and hobbies that include landscaping, writing, sewing, quilting and more recently, designing handbags and patterns for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

